By default, TYPO3 editors (backend users with restricted permissions) cannot clear the system or page cache. This function is reserved for administrators only. However, in many projects it is useful to allow editors to manually clear the cache after making changes.

How to Enable Cache Clearing

You can enable this function for your editors in just a few steps. Proceed as follows:

1. In the backend, open the Backend Users section under System > Backend Users.


2. Select the user group for which you want to enable this function.

 

3. Navigate to the Options tab.
TYPO3 TSconfig Tab Screenshot

4. Add the following code to the TSconfig field:

 options.clearCache.pages = 1 
options.clearCache.all = 1

5. Then click Save.

Done!

The selected user group can now clear the cache – both the page cache and the complete system cache.

Note

Carefully consider which user groups you want to grant this function to. As a general rule, clearing the cache should only be enabled for responsible editors.

Contact us!